Architrave paint stripping and lead paint

Anon posted on the 26/03/2018 10:05:51 AM

Does anyone have any advice on stripping paint from architrave in a tenement? I've made a start using an eco friendly chemical, but not getting very far as there are so many layers of paint. I'm also not keen on continuing as I'm concerned I might have uncovered lead paint. Are there any local companies who can test for lead paint and remove it safely too?

#1 - Mark replied on the 27/03/2018 11:58:47 AM

Lead paint is an occupational hazard and you're unlikely to have serious issues with it unless you're exposed to it regularly for a long period of time. In your own home, buying a decent mask and trying to get rid of everything in the one week will almost certainly be fine. Obviously I'm not a doctor or a chemist, make up your own mind, but that's my take on it.

As for the actual stripping you will have no success at all with modern paint strippers, it is much easier to use a heat gun. Open all your windows and doors and wear a decent mask. You'll probably need to isolate or cover your smoke alarm too if it also has a heat detector.

When it comes to getting doors done, it is much easier to remove them - you can take the heatgun outside, where you can forego the use of a mask, or you can send them off to get stripped at a door dipping company. They will be licensed by the relevant local authority to make safe use of heavy duty paint strippers that are banned for consumer and DIY use.

#2 - Mark replied on the 27/03/2018 2:10:03 PM

By the way, I suppose you realise you can also remove shutters and architraves and have them dipped but prepare for a lot of dust and probably a bit of plastering if you go down that route.

#3 - CV3V replied on the 29/03/2018 2:27:40 PM